James Thompson posted the quickest time for Team Dynamics during the second test day of the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship summer break at Rockingham.

Following on from last week's test at Snetterton, a number of teams headed to Northamptonshire for a second day of official running in preparation for the second half of the season - which kicks off early next month at Snetterton.

Thompson posted a quickest time of 1min 25.410secs during his morning at the wheel of the Honda Civic, with his time remaining unbeaten during the afternoon despite the double champion handing his car over to former F1 racer Johnny Herbert.

Jonathan Adam was the man who came closest as he posted a time of 1min 25.430secs late on but fell just 0.020secs shy of leading the way for Airwaves BMW, while defending champion Fabrizio Giovanardi slotted into third place and was just 0.011secs further back.

Stephen Jelly, showing no ill effects of his high-speed shunt at Snetterton last week, was fourth quickest for Team RAC, while Matt Neal was fifth and Racing Silverline's Jason Plato sixth, despite the latter suffering from flu and stopping briefly on track after suffering a broken driveshaft on his Chevrolet Lacetti.

Rob Collard was seventh in the second of the Airwaves BMWs ahead of points leader Colin Turkington, with Andrew Jordan and Dave Pinkney rounding out the top ten.

James Nash was eleventh ahead of Herbert, while Martin Johnson was 13th, although he was forced to sit out the afternoon session after an engine failure on his Boulevard Team Racing Vauxhall Astra.

Rockingham Test Times - 13 July:

1. James Thompson Team Dynamics Honda Civic 1min 25.410secs I C
2. Jonathan Adam Airwaves BMW BMW 320si 1min 25.430secs I
3. Fabrizio Giovanardi VX Racing Vauxhall Vectra 1min 25.441secs C
4. Stephen Jelley Team RAC BMW 320si 1min 25.453secs I
5. Matt Neal VX Racing Vauxhall Vectra 1min 25.469secs C
6. Jason Plato Racing Silverline Chevrolet Lacetti 1min 25.540secs I
7. Rob Collard Airwaves BMW BMW 320si 1min 25.729secs I
8. Colin Turkington Team RAC BMW 320si 1min 25.804secs I
9. Andrew Jordan VX Racing Vauxhall Vectra 1min 25.944secs C
10. Dave Pinkney Team Dynamics Honda Civic 1min 26.163secs I C
11. James Nash RML Chevrolet Lacetti 1min 26.182secs I
12. Johnny Herbert Team Dynamics Honda Civic 1min 26.372secs I C
13. Martin Johnson Boulevard Team Racing Vauxhall Astra Coupe 1min 28.471secs I B

C denotes eligible for Manufacturers/Constructors title
I denotes Independent runner B denotes BTC spec car, all others S2000


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment