Just days after the thrilling climax to its 2009 campaign, the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship has confirmed that next year's title will be fought out over ten rounds.

As in previous years, the calendar includes nine of the UK's favourite venues, with only Brands Hatch appearing twice in order to stage a round on both its Grand Prix and Indy layouts. The schedule also includes a seven-week mid-season break to prevent clashes with the British Grand Prix, football's World Cup and cycling's Tour de France.

The year opens on 4 April at Thruxton, with the order thereafter receiving a minor makeover, with Donington Park shifted to later in the season as work continues on its layout and facilities in order to achieve the circuit's bid for the 2010 British GP.

Rockingham, which hosted this season's penultimate event, slots in to stage round two, before the BTCC circus heads to Brands GP, Oulton Park - where it will use the Island layout - Croft, Snetterton, Silverstone - to run on the National circuit - and Knockhill, before finally reaching the revamped Donington on 19 September. Brands Hatch will again stage the season finale on the second Sunday in October.

The full 2010 BTCC calendar is as follows:

April 4 Thruxton
April 25 Rockingham
May 2 Brands Hatch (Grand Prix)
June 6 Oulton Park (Island)
June 20 Croft
August 8 Snetterton
August 22 Silverstone (National)
September 5 Knockhill
September 19 Donington Park
October 10 Brands Hatch (Indy)

all dates remain provisional