Fresh from collecting her Ginetta Junior championship trophy at the annual BTCC Night of Champions ceremony, teenager racer Sarah Moore has been named as one of the ten contenders for the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year award.

Moore became the first female champion on the BTCC package when she secured the 2009 title in the season finale at Brands Hatch, taking five wins over the course of the season to fend off the challenge of Jake Cook and Aaron Williamson.

"I can't believe I have been nominated for this award!" she said. "The BBC Sports Personality of the Year show is something my family and I watch religiously so for me to be involved is incredibly exciting.

"I'm up against some really stiff competition from the other nominees but its just great to be recognised outside of the motorsport world - everyone at Ginetta and all my friends are so pleased for me."

The 16-year-old has already confirmed that she will return to the Junior series to defend her title next season after agreeing a deal to join the team, which fielded a car for Fulvio Mussi in the Ginetta G50 series last season.

As was the case with Mussi in 2009, Moore's racing programme will be funded by racing fans who sign up for the YRC initiative - getting their name on her car during the campaign while also benefitting from a range of offers from the various YRC partners.

"We're so excited," team owner Hannah James said. "Of course, this nomination for Sarah is down to years of hard slog and a heap of talent. We're just privileged to be taking her on to the next stage in her career."

Having an earned a slot on the top-ten shortlist, Moore will now need to wait for the Young Sports Personality of the Year panel to meet on 23 November to select the top three and decide on the overall winner, who will be named in the live Sports Personality of the Year show in December.

Previous winners of the award include England international footballers Wayne Rooney and Theo Walcott as well as World Championship winning diver Tom Daley - who is one of the other contenders for the award this year.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment