Jason Plato posted the quickest time for Chevrolet in the annual Dunlop MSA British Tourign Car Championship Media Day test at Brands Hatch.

Putting his Silverline Chevrolet Cruze up against its rivals for the first time, Plato posted a quickest time of 48.662secs during the afternoon session to edge out Honda's Gordon Shedden by a tenth of a second on the times. Plato had failed to set a time during the morning due to an issue with the steering on his car, which forced the RML-run team to send for replacement parts from its Wellingborough base.

Steven Kane was third quickest for Airwaves BMW - having paced the morning session - while Tom Chilton was fourth for Team Aon in the first of its LPG-powered Ford Focus STs.

Related Articles

Matt Neal in the second of the Honda Civics was fifth ahead of Rob Collard in the first of the WSR BMWs while Alex MacDowall was a solid seventh in the second Cruze - less than half a second away from his more experienced team-mate. Tom Onslow-Cole, Paul O'Neill and Andrew Jordan rounded out the top ten.

Elsewhere, Shaun Hollamby gave his VW Golf its debut, although he failed to log an official time, while Forster Motorsport was only able to run one car for Arthur Forster, although his running was curtailed by an oil leak during the morning.

2010 Media Day Testing times:

1. Jason Plato Silverline Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 48.662secs
2. Gordon Shedden Team Honda Honda Civic 48.817secs
3. Steven Kane Airwaves BMW BMW 320si 48.821secs
4. Tom Chilton Team Aon Ford Focus ST 48.829secs
5. Matt Neal Team Honda Honda Civic 48.930secs
6. Rob Collard West Surrey Racing BMW 320si 48.963secs
7. Alex MacDowall Silverline Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 49.109secs
8. Tom Onslow-Cole Team Aon Ford Focus ST 49.144secs
9. Paul O'Neill sunshine.co.uk with Tech-Speed Honda Integra 49.193secs
10. Andrew Jordan Pirtek Racing Vauxhall Vectra 49.273secs

11. Mat Jackson Airwaves BMW BMW 320si 49.357secs
12. Dave Pinkney Pinkney Motorsport Vauxhall Vectra 49.392secs
13. Andy Neate West Surrey Racing BMW 320si 49.462secs
14. Matt Hamilton TH Motorsport Honda Civic 49.639secs
15. John George sunshine.co.uk with Tech-Speed Honda Integra 49.935secs
16. Tom Boardman Special Tuning (UK) SEAT Leon 49.949secs
17. Martin Johnson Boulevard Team Racing Vauxhall Astra 50.085secs
18. Lea Wood Central Group Racing Honda Integra 50.234secs
19. Arthur Forster Forster Motorsport BMW 320si 51.820secs
20. Shaun Hollamby AmD Milltek Volkswagen Golf No time