REVEALED: Your top BTCC Driver of the Decade

See who you voted as the top driver from the last ten years of racing in the BTCC
Just before Christmas, we asked you to vote for your top driver from the past decade of action in the British Touring Car Championship – and you voted in your thousands.

We put together a shortlist of ten drivers to chose from, made up of the six championship winners since 2001 and four 'wildcards', and now it's time to reveal who you voted as your top performer from 2001 through to 2010.

It may come as no surprise to see that your top driver was one of those six BTCC champions, but it was a close run thing between Jason Plato, Fabrizio Giovanardi and James Thompson – three men with six titles between them.

In the end, it was Plato who came out on top as he was named your Driver of the Decade – having previously been voted as the top driver of 2010 after securing the BTCC crown for the second time.

Giovanardi and Thompson therefore had to settle for second and third with the top three all picking up an average score greater than eight out of ten for their performances in the period 2001-2010.

The current WTCC title winner Yvan Muller was fourth on your vote ahead of Colin Turkington, while Matt Neal rounded out the top six – meaning you voted the six title winners into the top six places.

Rounding out our shortlist were the four 'wildcards' and it was Gordon Shedden who was 'best of the rest' ahead of Anthony Reid, Rob Huff and Mat Jackson.

The full result, with each driver's average score out of ten, is as follows:

1. Jason Plato 8.442
2. Fabrizio Giovanardi 8.225
3. James Thompson 8.215
4. Yvan Muller 7.924
5. Colin Turkington 7.656
6. Matt Neal 6.559
7. Gordon Shedden 6.391
8. Anthony Reid 6.110
9. Rob Huff 6.046
10. Mat Jackson 5.973

Tagged as: vote , driver of the decade

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
BMW returns to the BTCC with WSR
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.