Jason Plato took pole for the first Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship event on the new Snetterton 300 circuit after setting the pace during qualifying in Norfolk.

Plato and Chevrolet team-mate Alex MacDowall had been quickest in practice earlier in the day and were again at the front of the pack in qualifying with Plato emerging with the quickest time ahead of the Honda of Gordon Shedden.

MacDowall had been well placed to challenge for pole for the second straight season at Snetterton before a fuel leak caused a fire in the pits which ruled him out for the remainder of the session, although he retained third quickest ahead of Matt Neal's Honda - the points leader settling for fourth on the grid with maximum ballast on his car.

Related Articles

James Nash was fifth quickest ahead of Tom Chilton, while seventh went to the NGTC-spec Toyota of Frank Wrathall - matching the pace of Chilton exactly to secure the best grid slot yet for a car built to the new regulations.

Dave Newsham, Paul O'Neill and Tom Onslow-Cole rounded out the top ten.

Martin Byford was quickest of the two debutants this weekend with the 19th quickest time in the AmD Milltek Racing VW, while Dan Welch was an impression 20th in the new Welch Automotive Proton despite the fact that the car was only completed on Friday.

Tom Boardman failed to set a time after his SEAT ground to a halt on the back straight while Chris James also failed to post a quick lap.