Crash.Net BTCC News

BTCC Driver of the Year vote: 7th

20 December 2011

Top 10 BTCC Drivers of the Year 2011:
7: Andrew Jordan

Team: Pirtek Racing
Car: Vauxhall Vectra (S2000/NGTC)
Wins: 1
Podiums: 7
Championship points: 143
Championship position: 6

A year of experience with the NGTC engine meant Andrew Jordan was one to watch going into the 2011 BTCC season, and it proved to be correct during the first half of the season as the Pirtek Racing driver emerged as arguably the biggest challenger to Honda pair Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden.

After a tough start to the season at Brands Hatch – where he suffered punctures in two of the three races while well placed towards the front of the field – Jordan's season burst into life at Donington Park; where he enjoyed his best weekend in the series to date.

A brace of second place finishes were split by a win in race two and two additional third place finishes at Thruxton meant Jordan was right in the mix as a championship contender – a fact backed up by two more podiums at Oulton Park and Croft before the mid-season break.

Unfortunately for Jordan, the second half of the year wouldn't match the first as experiments with the car didn't quite go to plan and the performance found in the first half of the year couldn't be matched. A brace of fifth place finishes in the season finale at Silverstone were the best results secured from Snetterton onwards, with the youngster unable to repeat the podium success he had enjoyed earlier in the year.

Despite that, he secured a top six championship finish and also took third in the Independents' title race, with the aim for 2012 being to build a title challenge with the same NGTC-spec Honda Civic that will be raced by the factory Honda team.

BTCC Driver of the Year Top 10:
8. Paul O'Neill
9. Rob Austin
10. Tom Onslow-Cole