Top 10 BTCC Drivers of the Year 2011: 5: Mat Jackson

Team: Airwaves Racing Car: Ford Focus (S2000/NGTC) Wins: 4 Podiums: 10 Championship points: 191 Championship position: 4

The 2011 season was one where Mat Jackson had chance to join the list of BTCC title winners, although a wretched run of form in the second half of the year meant the Airwaves Racing driver saw his championship hopes disappear.

The campaign started well for Jackson at the wheel of his Ford Focus, with a double podium at Brands Hatch being followed by his first victory of the season at Donington Park. Indeed, each of the opening four meetings saw Jackson take at least one podium finish before he starred at Croft - fighting back through the field on a drying track to just miss out on victory having gambled on a mix of slick and wet tyres.

Croft was also the scene of Jackson's third win of the season - the second having come at Oulton Park - as he put himself firmly into championship contention and win number four at Snetterto after the summer break meant he moved into the title lead for the first time.

However, things would then take a turn for the worse with a wretched run of form that sawhim suffer four DNFs in the next six races, with his only point coming for setting the fastest lap in race two at Knockhill.

Although he bounced back at Brands Hatch to score two second place finishes at Brands Hatch, a failure to score at Silverstone meant he missed out on the Independents' championship and had to settle for fourth overall.

While that was ultimately a disappointing end to his campaign, the fact that he was able to end the season fourth showed how strong his early season form had been and only reiterated people's views that Jackson is a future series champion.

BTCC Driver of the Year Top 10: 6. Jason Plato 7. Andrew Jordan 8. Paul O'Neill 9. Rob Austin 10. Tom Onslow-Cole