Frank Wrathall will start from pole position for the first time in the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship after topping the times in qualifying for the latest rounds of the season at Snetterton.

The Dynojet driver edged out Jason Plato in a closely-fought session, putting a Toyota on pole in the series for the first time since Julian Bailey topped the times at Knockhill all the way back in 1993.

Plato ran off track twice while trying to regain top spot but had to settle for second place, just 0.015secs behind, while Dave Newsham was third - only 0.039secs down on Plato.

Related Articles

Andrew Jordan went up to fourth on his final lap to knock Adam Morgan off the second row of the grid, although fifth still marked a personal best for the Speedworks driver. Dan Welch took sixth at the circuit where he made his debut in the series last season.

Matt Neal could only qualify seventh ahead of Lea Wood, but Neal's team-mate Gordon Shedden has work to do from the back of the grid having failed to set a time. Shedden was however lucky to make it out on track at all after his team worked miracles to repair his car after it was damaged by a fire in first free practice.

Mat Jackson was 16th quickest in the new Redstone Racing Ford Focus on what was basically a shakedown for the NGTC-spec machine, while debutant Robb Holland was 20th in the Team HARD Honda Civic. That was one place behind team boss Tony Gilham at the wheel of the Thorney Motorsport Vauxhall Insignia.