Crash.Net BTCC News

BTCC Driver of the Year vote: 5th

27 December 2012

Top 10 BTCC Drivers of the Year 2012:
5: Andrew Jordan

Team: Pirtek Racing
Car: Honda Civic (NGTC)
Wins: 1
Podiums: 9
Pole Positions: 1
Fastest laps: 2
Championship points – Overall/Independents: 346/425
Championship position – Overall/Independents: 4/1

Over a single lap in qualifying, few would get close to Andrew Jordan in 2012 – with only Jason Plato having a better average over the course of the campaign. His run to pole at Thruxton came thanks to one of the most committed laps seen all year.

The fact he only went on to win once would suggest that that pace wasn't always carried over to race day, although a total of nine podium finishes again showed he was more than capable of taking the fight to the factory men.

Jordan's sole win came at Snetterton but it was his consistency that would be most impressive with no fewer than 27 top ten finishes. Of his three zero scores, two would be down to incidents that were no fault of his own.

The manner in which he wrapped up the Independents title showed that Jordan was well aware of how to build and maintain a championship challenge and the aim going forwards will now be to go for an overall crown.

Crash.net's BTCC Driver of the Year:

6. Frank Wrathall
Matt Neal
8. Rob Collard
9. Aron Smith
10. Tom Onslow-Cole