Crash.Net BTCC News

BTCC Driver of the Year vote: 1st

31 December 2012

Top 10 BTCC Drivers of the Year 2012:
1: Gordon Shedden

Team: Honda Yuasa Racing
Car: Honda Civic (NGTC)
Wins: 8
Podiums: 16
Pole Positions: 0
Fastest laps: 8
Championship points – Overall/Independents: 408/NA
Championship position – Overall/Independents: 1/NA

Having gone close last year, 2012 was the season when everything fell into place for Gordon Shedden – with the Scot lifting the BTCC title for the first time.

The year started badly at Brands Hatch where a series of new car issues left him well and truly on the back foot, but from that point onwards, the Honda man was on a mission to secure his first crown.

Four wins in the next six races brought him back into contention and another four would follow as the season wore on – including a fine double at Rockingham after that save in race three.

Even when his Honda wasn't at its best – such as at Silverstone – Shedden got the maximum result possible but also drove with one eye on the championship as he looked to keep out of trouble.

It was that approach that meant he became a hugely popular champion at the season's end – and is partly why he is your BTCC Driver of the Year for the second year in succession.

The 'scores on the doors' for the full top 20 in the championship standings will be released after the New Year.

Crash.net's BTCC Driver of the Year:

2. Dave Newsham
3. Jason Plato
4. Mat Jackson
5. Andrew Jordan
6. Frank Wrathall
7. Matt Neal
8. Rob Collard
9. Aron Smith
10. Tom Onslow-Cole