Top 10 BTCC Drivers of the Year 2013: 6: Jason Plato

Team: MG KX Momentum Racing Car: MG6 GT Wins: 8 Podiums: 12 Pole Positions: 4 Fastest laps: 6 Championship points - Overall/Independents: 380/NA Championship position - Overall/Independents: 3rd/NA

Jason Plato scored more pole positions than anyone else in 2013 and also won more races than his rivals, but the MG man once again fell just shy of adding a third title to his already glittering resume.

Related Articles

Tipped as the man to beat by many going into the year, Plato started well with a double success on the Brands Hatch Indy circuit and looked good through the early stages of the campaign as he took the fight to his Honda rivals.

Despite four early in the first half of the year, there were also lost points however, with a puncture while leading at Thruxton, a fire at Oulton Park and a wrong call on wet tyres at Croft all costing valuable ground in the title race.

Misfortune after the summer break, including two DNFs at Snetterton (one of which was caused by a dramatic roll), saw Plato rule himself out of the title only to come back strong in the final two rounds, where he won four of the last six races.

While it wasn't enough to take the title, Plato ended the year third in the standings and will hope that 2014 is the season when he is finally able to become a three time champion.'s top ten BTCC Drivers of the Year - as voted by you:

7. Matt Neal
8. Adam Morgan
9. Lea Wood
10. Tom Onslow-Cole