Reigning BTCC champion Andrew Jordan has stormed to a second pole-position of the year after breaking Yvan Muller's twelve-year qualifying record at Thruxton.

Jordan had previously broken Muller's record during free-practice but then went a further two-tenths faster to set a 1 minute 16.192 second lap - claiming pole by two- tenths ahead of Honda's Matt Neal.

It's the second record breaking pole-position lap to occur in two out of the three meetings this season after nearly all of the top ten in Donington's qualifying broke Neal's existing lap.

Neal displaced his in-form Yuasa Honda team mate Gordon Shedden in the final minutes of the session, displacing the Scot down into third.

Mat Jackson's fourth place confirms his Airwaves squad are finally getting a handle of their 2014-spec Focus ST despite his team mate Fabrizio Giovanardi struggling further down the order in twelfth.

BTCC rookie Tom Ingram made up for a disappointing end to Donington Park by qualifying his Speedworks Avensis into an outstanding fifth position ahead of tomorrow's races.

Jason Plato led an MG six-seven ahead of Sam Tordoff with the Triple-Eight pairing seeming to struggle around the Thruxton circuit, at least in qualifying trim.

Rob Collard was the top BMW in eighth position half a tenth up the road from BTCC legend Alain Menu who qualified ninth.

Mercedes' Adam Morgan ended his Saturday tenth on the grid despite setting the fifth quickest time in FP2.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment