MG's Sam Tordoff has ended Rockingham's FP1 session quickest after piping reigning BTCC champion Andrew Jordan by just one-thousandth of a second.

Pirtek's Jordan had led most of the running but a 1 minute 23.357 lap by MG's Tordoff, around the Infield configuration of the Rockingham circuit, was good enough to claim the initial bragging rights by the slenderest of margins.

Mercedes' Adam Morgan, after enjoying a strong Knockhill, continued to display a rapid turn of pace in third ahead of championship leader Colin Turkington who completed the top four in his WSR 1-Series.

Related Articles

Next up was the top factory Honda effort in the shape of Gordon Shedden in fifth while BTCC rookie Tom Ingram followed behind in sixth for Speedworks Toyota.

Fabrizio Giovanardi and Matt Neal could only be separated by two-hundredths of a second in seventh and eighth as the second MG of Jason Plato trailed the pair by a tenth in ninth position.

Knockhill's race two winner, Mat Jackson made it two Airwaves Focus' to make the top ten in tenth.

Behind Jackson, Alain Menu and last year's Rockingham victor, Rob Austin ensured the top twelve runners remained within one-second off Tordoff's front-running pace.