7th - Andrew Jordan Average score out of ten: 6.4 Team: Pirtek Racing Car: Honda Civic Wins: 4 Podiums: 7 Poles: 2 Fastest Laps: 3 Championship points: 310 Championship position: 5th out of 32

Though BTCC title defenders have often had their work cut out to replicate the success of their previous, Andrew Jordan seemed better placed than most to join an exclusive club of back-to-back winners in 2014, not least when it largely dominated the season opener at Brands Hatch.

Indeed, as the season clicked through the opening rounds that pre-season consensus didn't look like changing as the familiar - and effective - Jordan/Pirtek Honda Civic combination looked just as irresistible as before.

Related Articles

Jordan looked to be in prime position to at least fight for his title defence but as the season arrived at the halfway point - following a dominant Thruxton display - the champion's year began to unravel.

Unable to match the relentless surge from eventual champions Colin Turkington and WSR BMW, Jordan's form dipped and a nightmare weekend borne from a scary high speed off at Snetterton left the Pirtek driver not only with mild concussion, but also out of the championship race.

Couple that with his Honda Civic seemingly bearing the brunt of the current TOCA regulations meant Jordan could only scrap for the odd victory or two as the days of his title defence dwindled.

Even so, a predicted heightened Honda effort with the possible emergence of the new Civic Type-R may reignite Jordan's resurrection to the top of the BTCC pile once again.

Do you agree with the poll results? Have your say in the comments section below...

BTCC Driver of the Year poll results so far 8. Rob Collard 9. Rob Austin 10. Sam Tordoff

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' BTCC standings, the BTCC Driver of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Thousands of votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net BTCC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's top twenty classification a mark out of ten.