6th - Aron Smith Average score out of ten: 6.5 Team: Chrome Edition Restart Racing Car: Volkswagen CC Wins: 2 Podiums: 3 Poles: 0 Fastest Laps: 1 Championship points: 201 Championship position: 9th out of 32

Aron Smith will have won a lot of new fans this season, if he didn't already had enough before, and rightly so.

Faced with the daunting mission of being paired up with the returning BTCC legend Alain Menu at the all new BMR squad, Smith produced an impressive scalp by getting the measure of his very highly regarded team mate.

Related Articles

As the Team BMR/Volkswagen combination grew ever stronger it was Smith who ultimately spearheaded while Menu took time to acclimatise to the new era of BTCC racing.

Although Menu did return to his form of old during the latter end of the season, Smith had already made a name for himself by taking two hard-fought victories at Oulton Park and Snetterton.

Though winning is one thing in the BTCC, the manner in which the Irishman executed those wins for Volkswagen under severe multi-car pressure will have done his reputation no harm at all. It is no coincidence that Smith was by far and away the earliest man to confirm his place for the 2015 season with BMR snapping up his services for another campaign.

Do you agree with the poll results? Have your say in the comments section below...

BTCC Driver of the Year poll results so far 7. Andrew Jordan 8. Rob Collard 9. Rob Austin 10. Sam Tordoff

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' BTCC standings, the BTCC Driver of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Thousands of votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net BTCC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's top twenty classification a mark out of ten.