4th - Jason Plato Average score out of ten: 7.1 Team: MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save Car: MG 6 GT Wins: 6 Podiums: 14 Poles: 4 Fastest Laps: 2 Championship points: 399 Championship position: 2nd out of 32

For Jason Plato it was business as usual in 2014, but for the third year in a row he would fall just short of giving MG its much desired drivers' title.

Nonetheless, the man himself had every reason to be pleased in 2014 since every victory resulted in a new record, the two-time champion adding six wins to a career total that now stands at an unprecedented 88 BTCC wins.

Related Articles

For all the victories, however, that elusive third title still evaded the Triple Eight MG driver for another season despite it being his most convincing title tilt in the MG 6. However, he couldn't quite match the consistency and unwavering versatility of Colin Turkington in the BMW and though he would keep his title hopes alive into the final round, he was always an outside contender.

Controversial comments about the disparity between the development of FWD and RWD cars didn't always endear Plato to rivals and fans in 2014, but though he lost out to a worthy rival in Turkington, runner-up doesn't diminish his reputation as one of the BTCC greats.

Do you agree with the poll results? Have your say in the comments section below...

BTCC Driver of the Year poll results so far 5. Adam Morgan 6. Aron Smith 7. Andrew Jordan 8. Rob Collard 9. Rob Austin 10. Sam Tordoff

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' BTCC standings, the BTCC Driver of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Thousands of votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net BTCC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's top twenty classification a mark out of ten.