Team BMR's Aron Smith will go into the BTCC qualifying at Thruxton later this afternoon having set the quickest time of the weekend after topping FP2 aboard the Volkswagen CC.

Before Smith dethroned the two Honda Civic Type-R's from the head of the field, a lengthy red flag period delayed the running following Dan Welch's hefty shunt at the final chicane.

Once the damage stricken Proton was extracted from the scene of the accident, Smith produced a surge of flying laps that culminated with a session topping 1 minute 17.325 second lap around the Thruxton circuit - beating the Honda of Matt Neal by just over a tenth.

Related Articles

Next up in third and fourth, the Triple Eight MG's began to reveal their true pace in the final session before qualifying but it was Jack Goff who finished the quicker of the pair as Andrew Jordan - three times a Thruxton pole man - settled for fourth.

WSR's Andy Priaulx once again featured highly in the order in fifth, confirming the BMW's should pose a threat for pole-position in a couple of hour's time.

Team BMR's Colin Turkington completed the top-six order ahead of the second Civic Type-R of Gordon Shedden in seventh. Shedden had spent most of the running bolted behind Neal's front-running time in second but the 2012 champion failed to improve after the red flag.

Mercedes' Adam Morgan was eighth for WIX Racing while Josh Cook and Jeff Smith completed the top-ten for Chevrolet and Eurotech Racing.

FP1 pacesetter Jason Plato did take to circuit following the front-end rebuild of his Volkswagen CC but was only to complete an out-lap without setting a flying lap.