Defending British Touring Car champion Colin Turkington has defeated his fellow Team BMR team mates Aron Smith and Jason Plato to pole-position for race one at Snetterton by 0.027's.

The Volkswagen CC notched up his second pole-position of the season after posting a 1 minute 56.047 second lap as the 30 minute session reached it's climax.

However, Turkington's route to pole didn't come without peril. The bonnet of his Volkswagen worked itself loose during his opening sequence of laps and threatened to completely fly off as the CC picked up speed down the straights.

Related Articles

The problem was duly rectified during the changeover between the first and second runs, which allowed the Ulsterman to concentrate on posting his hot-lap at the end.

Although Plato was the first man to set a representative time for pole-position, it was Smith who held the top-spot until the dying minutes of the session.

All three efforts from the BMR drivers came within 0.071's of each other. A startling gap considering Snetterton represents the longest lap of the BTCC calendar.

It was just as close further down the order with MG's Andrew Jordan, Honda's Matt Neal and BMW's Andy Priaulx all posting times within 0.006's around the 3 mile circuit.

Despite qualifying in seventh, Triple Eight Racing's Jack Goff was Turkington's biggest threat to pole as session creeped into the final seconds.

Goff set a purple first sector but the MG driver outbraked himself on the approach to Brundle and threw away any chance of claiming his first ever BTCC pole.

Behind the MG in eighth, WSR's Sam Tordoff and Rob Collard sandwiched Tom Ingram in ninth as the trio completed the top ten.