BTCC Driver of the Year 2015 - 9th: Sam Tordoff

Continuing on the countdown to the top BTCC driver of 2015, the ninth placed driver has impressed with a new team and a new car
BTCC Driver of the Year 2015: 9th

9th – Sam Tordoff
Average poll score out of ten: 6.0
Team: Team JCT600 with GardX
Car: BMW 125i M Sport
Wins: 2
Podiums: 4
Poles: 2
Fastest laps: 5
Best finish: 1st
Championship points: 270
Championship position: 6th

Having spent two season's sitting alongside Jason Plato driving for the FWD MG Triple Eight Racing outfit, 2015 marked the birth of a new chapter in the career of Sam Tordoff after signing with defending British Touring Car Champion's West Surrey Racing.

Tasked with the objective of immersing himself within a new team setting, Tordoff also to adapt to a different philosophy of driving behind the wheel of the RWD BMW 125i M Sport challenger. Although it took the former FWD ace time to acclimatise, all the elements seemed to click by Oulton Park and Tordoff went on an almost unstoppable charge.

Pole position and victories at Oulton Park and Croft launched Tordoff with an outside chance of challenging for the title. But as the title race hit the power circuits of Rockingham and Silverstone, the BMW's straight-line speed deficiencies meant Tordoff was unable to sustain his run of form.

Nevertheless, Tordoff – among illustrious company - emerged as the leading BMW runner at the end of his first season with WSR. Quite an accomplishment, given the experience of team mates Andy Priaulx and Rob Collard.

Sam Tordoff in Crash.Net BTCC Driver of the Year poll
Top 10 BTCC Driver of the Year 2014 10th
Top 10 BTCC Driver of the Year 2013 N/A

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' British Championship standings, the BTCC Driver of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results and scoring each of the top twenty from this year's BTCC standings with a mark out of ten.

Tagged as: Sam Tordoff

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sam Tordoff (GBR) WSR BMW 125i M Sport
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.