BTCC Driver of the Year 2015 - 5th: Andy Priaulx

This driver made a sensational return to BTCC after 12 years since his last appearance in the championship having made history on the world stage.
5th – Andy Priaulx
Average poll score out of ten: 6.675
Team: Team IHG Rewards Club – West Surrey Racing
Car: BMW 125i M Sport
Wins: 2
Podiums: 8
Poles: 2
Fastest laps: 2
Best finish: 1st
Championship points: 247
Championship position: 8th

Andy Priaulx created quite a sensation when the long-time BMW factory driver announced his return to the British Touring Car Championship after agreeing a deal with West Surrey Racing for the 2015 season.

Since his last previous appearance in the BTCC back in 2002, Priaulx has arguably become one of the most prolific in Touring Car history and spearheaded much of BMW's success after clinching three World Touring Car titles on the bounce.

However, the series he left in 2002 had also moved on and the current set of NGTC regulations has played havoc with even the best. That didn't seem to phase Priaulx, though, as the WSR driver sent shockwaves through the paddock by claiming a remarkable pole position at the Brands Hatch season opener.

Indeed, the BTCC did bite back and an intermittent run of form confined Priaulx to just two podiums from the first four meetings of the season. That changed as the season headed towards BMW territory and 41-year old finally broke his victory duck at Croft.

Priaulx's first BTCC victory since Knockhill 2002 sparked the revival his season needed. The WSR driver finished the next eight consecutive races firmly in the top five, which included a further four podiums – moving him to within striking distance of the championship summit.

But just as Priaulx moved himself into contention, the dovetailing of his BMW European Le Mans Series commitments forced his absence from the Rockingham round, signalling an end to his title challenge.
Priaulx picked up a further win at Silverstone on his way to an eighth place championship finish.

Andy Priaulx in Crash.Net BTCC Driver of the Year poll
First time entry

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' British Championship standings, the BTCC Driver of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results and scoring each of the top twenty from this year's BTCC standings with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Andy Priaulx (GBR) WSR BMW 125i M Sport
Andy Priaulx (GBR) WSR BMW 125i M Sport
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.