BTCC Driver of the Year 2015 - 4th: Colin Turkington

New team and new machinery for the defending BTCC champion saw him come up slightly short in the title fight and our BTCC Driver of the Year poll.
4th – Colin Turkington
Average poll score out of ten: 7.68
Team: Team BMR RCIB Insurance
Car: Volkswagen CC
Wins: 4
Podiums: 8
Poles: 3
Fastest laps: 2
Best finish: 1st
Championship points: 310
Championship position: 4th

Once again, after securing a runaway second British Touring Car Championship title, Colin Turkington's presence on the 2015 grid was by no means a guarantee.

The defence of Turkington's second title was in jeopardy, long before the season had even begun. The loss of West Surrey Racing's title sponsor eBay, less than two-months after their 2014 championship success, meant Turkington's position in the team became financially impossible.

Team BMR finally came to the rescue and Turkington secured a deal which would, ironically, see the double champion sit alongside his 2014 nemesis Jason Plato.

A change of teams meant a change of drivetrain from the RWD BMW 125i M Sport, to the FWD Volkswagen CC. While Turkington continued to acclimatise to his new machinery, consistency favoured the defending champion during the first few rounds, even if a self-confessed lack of confidence still eluded the Ulsterman.

Turkington's brilliance took him to the top step by Donington Park but the 33-year old wouldn't return to the winners circle until later in the season at Snetterton. By that time, his team mate Plato had nestled himself as the number one contender from BMR. However, a brace of victories at Norfolk drew Turkington right back within striking distance of claiming a third title.

Contrary to the fireworks that had been predicted between Turkington and Plato, the pair vowed to work together in catching Honda's Gordon Shedden as the title race reached its climax. Plato ultimately had the upper hand on the Ulsterman but Turkington's defiance saw him remain a factor until the bitter end.

Colin Turkington in Crash.Net BTCC Driver of the Year poll
BTCC Driver of the Year poll 2014: 1st
BTCC Driver of the Year poll 2013: 2nd

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' British Championship standings, the BTCC Driver of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results and scoring each of the top twenty from this year's BTCC standings with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Colin Turkington (GBR) Team BMR Volkswagen Passat CC
Colin Turkington (GBR) Team BMR Volkswagen Passat CC
Colin Turkington (GBR) Team BMR Volkswagen Passat CC
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.