BTCC Driver of the Year 2015 - 2nd: Jason Plato

This BTCC veteran had another season of so near yet so far and pushed champion Gordon Shedden all the way in the title fight.
BTCC Driver of the Year: 2nd

2nd – Jason Plato
Average poll score out of ten: 8.13
Team: Team BMR RCIB Insurance
Car: Volkswagen CC
Wins: 6
Podiums: 10
Poles: 4
Fastest laps: 4
Best finish: 1st
Championship points: 344
Championship position: 2nd

There isn't all at much more Jason Plato has left to achieve in the British Touring Car Championship. 48 pole positions, 84 fastest laps, 204 podiums and 94 victories. Even now the rise of his accomplishments show no sign of abating but a third title in the series still evades the veterans grasp.

With his hunger to win remaining as high as ever, Plato embarked on the 2015 season in new surroundings after walking away from MG to join the Team BMR Volkswagen squad alongside his latest BTCC nemesis, Colin Turkington.

A productive winter testing programme created the foundation for an immediate title challenge and Plato looked set to hit the front just two races into his relationship with BMR but a cruel puncture put those designs on hold.

That tended to be the story of the season for Plato. Unquestionable pace but lady luck strayed from side when he needed it the most. Honda's Gordon Shedden was there to pick up the pieces but masterful performances, such as Plato's dominance around Oulton Park, kept the double champion in the game.

Further struggles, this time with a mystifying lack of straight-line speed in comparison to his BMR team mates, also hindered Plato's push for the title. Despite everything, Plato came within a handful of laps of finally securing a third title but a dramatic surge through the pack from Shedden denied the Volkswagen CC driver the championship for another during a scarcely believable finale.

Jason Plato in Crash.Net BTCC Driver of the Year poll
BTCC Driver of the Year poll 2014: 4th
BTCC Driver of the Year poll 2013: 6th
BTCC Driver of the Year poll 2012: 3rd
BTCC Driver of the Year poll 2011: 6th
BTCC Driver of the Year poll 2010: 1st

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' British Championship standings, the BTCC Driver of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results and scoring each of the top twenty from this year's BTCC standings with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jason Plato (GBR) Team BMR Volkswagen Passat CC
Jason Plato (GBR) Team BMR Volkswagen Passat CC
Jason Plato (GBR) Team BMR Volkswagen Passat CC
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.