Eurotech drops third car entry

Eurotech Racing has reluctantly had to bin its plans to run three entries for 2016 after failing to secure a third driver with sufficient backing.
Eurotech Racing has reluctantly had to bin its plans to run three entries for the 2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship after failing to secure a third driver with sufficient sponsorship backing.

Euotech, who will run Honda Civic Type R machines, had been working on expanding its infrastructure and move to larger premises to take on a third car after picking up a third TOCA BTCC licence but now that the deal with 'a very exciting prospect for BTCC and would no doubt have been at the sharp end of the grid' has been cancelled after the two parties failed to secure sufficient sponsorship backing.

As a result, team principal Jeff Smith has confirmed he has come to an agreement to hand the third licence over for 2016 while maintaining its option to run three cars next season.

“We haven't made any public comments regarding the third driver speculation as we have been keeping our heads down and working hard, confident that it would all come together,” Smith said.

“It's extremely disappointing having put everything in place including buying a licence, building a third car, restructuring the team and additional premises for it then not go ahead so close to the start of the season.”

“I would like to say a heartfelt personal thank you to the team for their hard work, late nights and diligence with all the Type R and RML updates. The result of this focus is that we are in a very good place for the start of the season, albeit with two cars rather than the planned three.

Eurotech retains the same driver line-up of Martin Depper and team boss Smith. The 2016 BTCC official launch will be held at Donington Park tomorrow (22nd March) where the team who has taken the spare TOCA BTCC licence is expected to reveal its new driver.

Tagged as: Smith , Eurotech , Depper

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Martin Depper (GBR) Eurotech Racing Honda Civic
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.