Thruxton: Ingram defeats Moffat, Neal to claim Thruxton pole

Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram made good work of his promising FP2 form by beating both Aiden Moffat and Matt Neal to a record breaking pole position at Thruxton.
Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram will start tomorrow's first British Touring Car Championship race from pole position after beating Aiden Moffat and Matt Neal in an enthralling three-car battle at Thruxton.

Not once, but twice Ingram saw his lap-time deleted from the timesheets for exceeding track limits, having initially looked to have snuck under Andrew Jordan's existing pole position during his first attempt.

However, the Speedworks driver's third attempt finally stuck and Ingram displaced Honda's Matt Neal by exactly half-a-tenth during the first set of runs.

As the session progressed, the prospect of a straight fight between Ingram and Neal became ever more apparent.

Each of the pair continued to lower the benchmark, resulting in Ingram finally breaking Jordan's two-year pole position record. But, out of nowhere, Aiden Moffat made his presence felt and ended up spliting Ingram and Neal to slot into second.

While Moffat defied expectations to achieve a remarkable front-row start alongside the Toyota Avensis of Ingram, Neal's run to third was just as staggering - due to the 75 kilos of success ballast the championship leader was running.

Behind a barely separable top-three came the duo of Triple Eight Racing MG's led by Josh Cook ahead of Ashley Sutton. At one point MG looked capable of hitting the front but the leaders three stretched their advantage as the session reached its climax.

WIX Racing's Adam Morgan was the second Mercedes A-Class to reach the top-ten ahead of Eurotech Racing's Jeff Smith in seventh.

Perhaps one of the major surprises of the session was Andrew Jordan only managing eighth aboard his Motorbase Ford Focus. The 2013 BTCC champion did feature early on but his charged faded as the clock clicked down.

Jordan's effort was good to remain ahead of BKR's Aron Smith and West Surrey Racing's Sam Tordoff, who completed the top-ten in ninth and tenth.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tom Ingram (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.