Croft: Moffat leads Jordan in first Croft practice

Laser Tools Racing's Aiden Moffat nudges Andrew Jordan from the top spot in the dying minutes to lead the opening BTCC practice running at Croft Circuit.
Laser Tools Racing's Aiden Moffat has emerged from the opening British Touring Car Championship practice session quickest of all after beating Andrew Jordan's time late in the session at Croft.

Jordan had led most of the 40-minute running after taking over the reigns from Subaru's Colin Turkington but a late charge up the order from the Mercedes A-Class driver saw Moffat pip the Motorbase Ford Focus by 0.026s.

Despite running a full 75 kilos of success ballast - as virtue of leading the title chase - West Surrey Racing's Sam Tordoff was next to arrive in the timesheets with the third quickest effort.

A productive series of laps throughout the mid-part of the session elevated Tordoff up into the top two before Moffat lowered the benchmark with a 1 minute 25.038 second lap.

Tordoff's lap was just 0.010s ahead of Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram in fifth while Adam Morgan ensured both Mercedes A-Class machines finished FP1 firmly in the top five after producing the fifth fastest effort.

Championship leader Tordoff was the only BMW runner to make the top-ten at this early stage of the weekend.

Silverline Subaru BMR Racing's Turkington eventually fell to sixth by the session end but remained ahead of Honda's Gordon Shedden and BKR's Aron Smith, who trailed the Levorg in seventh and eighth.

Turkington's lap in sixth meant just 0.154s covered the top-six runner while the entire top-twelve was separated by little under 0.5s.

Eurotech Racing completed the remainder of the top-ten with Martin Depper getting the better of his younger rookie team mate Daniel Lloyd right at the death of the session.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Aiden Moffat (GBR) Laser Tools Racing Mercedes A-Class
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.