Croft: Turkington storms to second consecutive BTCC pole

Colin Turkington has stormed to his second consecutive BTCC pole for Subaru after producing a crushing 1 minute 23.608 second lap ahead of Eurotech's Daniel Lloyd at Croft.
Silverline Subaru BMR Racing's Colin Turkington has taken an emphatic second consecutive British Touring Car Championship pole position ahead of Eurotech Racing's Daniel Lloyd at Croft.

In a session which was halted thanks to a red flag incident involving Honda's Matt Neal and West Surrey Racing's Rob Collard, Turkington was in imperious form and seized the initiative during both sides of the stoppage.

Prior to Neal and Collard's on-track skirmish, the leading Subaru Levorg of Turkington had already set a daunting gauntlet after setting a 1 minute 23.9 second lap - by far trumping the previous best lap of the weekend.

The double BTCC champion threatened to extend his advantage even further to the remainder of the field but was one of many to fall victim to the stewards track limits ruling.

Turkington did eventually better his existing effort and ended up clinching pole position by a healthy 0.398 second margin ahead of the equally as impressive Lloyd in second.

Just 0.066s could cover the rest of the top-ten as finding a piece of clear track to unleash a final effort became a tall order.

Triple Eight MG's Ashley Sutton fronts the second row ahead of Jason Plato in fourth, who on a number of occasions looked a dangerous threat for pole position.

West Surrey Racing's Sam Tordoff consolidated his target of qualifying in top-five in fifth ahead of BMW team mate Jack Goff in sixth while Power Maxed Racing's Hunter Abbott was a highly credible seventh.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Colin Turkington (GBR) Subaru Team BMR Subaru Levorg GT
BMW returns to the BTCC with WSR
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.