Snetterton: Shedden beats Turkington for first pole since 2013

Reigning BTCC champion Gordon Shedden hits back in style by denying Subaru's Colin Turkington a third successive pole position at Snetterton.
Reigning British Touring Car Champion Gordon Shedden has given himself the best chance of reigniting his title challenge by securing his first pole position since Donington Park 2013 in close circumstances at Snetterton.

The Team Dynamics driver had admitted he headed into qualifying not really knowing what to expect after an engine change disrupted his practice running but Shedden completed a remarkable recovery, which saw him pip Subaru's Colin Turkington by just 0.015s.

Shedden set his pole position lap during his first set of qualifying runs and remained in that position as the flag fell after his nearest challengers failed to topple the leading Honda Civic Type-R's effort.

Turkington came perilously close but came just 0.015s short of the Honda. The former double champion's progress - like many- was hampered by traffic during his final roll of the dice.

WIX Racing's Adam Morgan backed up his promising practice form and heads the second row of the grid ahead of Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram in fourth.

Mat Jackson was the lone Motorbase Performance runner to carry for flag for Ford in fifth as his team mate Andrew Jordan was confined to the garage unable to set a time in 31st and last, thanks to an untimely power steering issue.

Power Maxed Racing's Hunter Abbott was another to impress and guided his Chevrolet Cruze into a career best sixth ahead of Aron Smith and Ashley Sutton, who were seventh and eighth.

Meanwhile, Matt Neal will start tomorrow's opening race from ninth while championship leader Sam Tordoff joins Neal on the fifth row in tenth.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Gordon Shedden (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing, Honda Civic Type R
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.