Knockhill: Ingram hits the front during second Knockhill practice

Not for the first time this season, Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram goes into qualifying fastest of all after setting the pace during FP2 at Knockhill.
Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram will yet again head into qualifying as the man to beat after searing to the top of the timesheets during the second British Touring Car free practice at Knockhill.

Over the past couple of season's, Ingram has made a habit of topping the practice running before qualifying and that trend shows no signs of abating after the Toyota Avensis runner became the first and only driver to dip under the 52 second barrier.

With just 1.777s separating 31-cars, Ingram put himself over 0.2s clear of WIX Racing's Adam Morgan in second position.

Ingram had originally gone top with a low 52 second lap but the Speedworks driver eclipsed even his own effort, which eventually stood at 51.955.

West Surrey Racing's Jack Goff, who did spend a short time in the ascendency, completed the top-three in his BMW 125i M Sport while Hunter Abbott, given his dreadful Snetterton, was a remarkable fourth for Power Maxed Racing.

Eurotech Racing's Jeff Smith was the fatest Honda effort in fifth ahead of FP1 pacesetter Jason Plato in sixth for Subaru.

Sam Tordoff was the next West Surrey Racing runner in seventh ahead of reigning champion and home hero Gordon Shedden in eighth.

Following his off in FP1, Motorbase Performance managed to repair Andrew Jordan's Ford Focus in time for the second 40-minute running and the 2013 subsequently rewarded his outfit's quick turnaround with the ninth fastest time.

Championship leader Rob Collard was tenth, ensuring all three BMWs were present within the top-ten order as qualifying looms.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tom Ingram (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.