Knockhill: Plato secures last gasp pole for 500th BTCC race

Jason Plato will sensationally start his 500th BTCC race from pole position after dramatically snatching the ascendency on his final flier at Knockhill.
Silverline Subaru BMR Racing's Jason Plato will sensationally start his 500th British Touring Car Championship race from pole position after dramatically snatching the top-spot away from Tom Ingram at Knockhill.

Race one was already set to be a momentous occasion for the double champion but his first pole position for Subaru leaves Plato in prime position to remarkably win his 500th race in the series.

In a session which was disrupted by two red flags, it was the Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis of Ingram, who led the order as the clock ticked past the halfway point.

However, by that time, Plato, who had already nestled himself into contention, stamped his authority by heading to the top just as Ingram suffered a slight off following the first red flag.

Plato initially built upon that advantage but Ingram, along with West Surrey Racing's Sam Tordoff, made life hard for the Subaru driver by usurping his pole-time deep in the session.

But Plato ensured there would be one final sting in the tale and wrestled the top spot away from Ingram by just 0.021s to claim his 49th career BTCC pole.

The second BMW 125i M Sport of Jack Goff was fourth while Subaru's Colin Turkington, who also threatened for pole, completed the top-five in fifth.

Motorbase Performance's Andrew Jordan was sixth ahead of Honda's Matt Neal, Adam Morgan and Rob Austin, placed seventh, eighth and ninth.

Standing in for Kelvin Fletcher, BTCC returnee Dave Newsham produced one of the standout performances of the session to qualifying his Power Maxed Chevrolet in tenth.

Reigning champion Gordon Shedden could only manage eleventh at his home event after the early part of his qualifying assault was scuppered by a turbo boost issue.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jason Plato (GBR) Subaru Team BMR Subaru Levorg GT
BMW returns to the BTCC with WSR
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.