Rockingham: Turkington ends practice quickest for Subaru

Subaru's Colin Turkington will head into qualifying having set the fastest time of the weekend so far ahead of Tom Ingram at Rockingham.
Silverline Subaru BMR Racing's Colin Turkington has emerged from the British Touring Car Championship practice running with the quickest time of the weekend after setting the FP2 pace at Rockingham.

While one Levorg hit the top of the timesheets, Turkington's BMR team mate Jason Plato didn't enjoy the same level of productivity within the second 40 minute session after damaging the sump of his Subaru early on.

Turkington proved the only man to dip under the 1 minute 23 barrier having produced a 1 minute 22.914 second effort, putting the double champion 0.148s to the good ahead of the ever present Tom Ingram in second.

Ingram's best effort came later on in the session whereas Turkington had stamped his marker earlier in proceedings.

A yellow flag on the entrance of Yentwood compromised the final sequence of laps right at the end of the session.

Despite both running a large amount of ballast, Honda duo Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden defied their lack of straight-line speed to go third and fourth while Handy Motorsport's Rob Austin ensured two Toyota's made the top-five in fifth.

FP1 pacesetter Andrew Jordan made a late move up the order to sixth ahead of WIX Racing's Adam Morgan and Team BKR's Aron Smith, who trailed behind the Motorbase Ford in seventh and eighth.

Power Maxed Racing's Hunter Abbott returned to the top ten in ninth, just 0.010s ahead of West Surrey Racing's Rob Collard in tenth.

Just 0.697s separated the times within the top-ten while just over a second covered the top-17 order.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Colin Turkington (GBR) Subaru Team BMR Subaru Levorg GT
BMW returns to the BTCC with WSR
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.