Silverstone: Sutton tops ultra-close second BTCC practice

MG's Ashley Sutton tops a closely fought second BTCC practice session by just 0.071s ahead of Tom Ingram at Silverstone.
MG's Ashley Sutton has toped a closely fought second British Touring Car Championship practice by just 0.071s ahead of Tom Ingram at Silverstone.

With the weather conditions improving vastly from the opening session, the 40-minute running proved a hectic affair as the times drastically dropped from FP1.

Three-consecutive hot-laps from Triple Eight Racing's Sutton towards the end of the session moved the leading MG6 GT to the top of the timesheets, 0.071s clear of the also late improving Toyota Avensis of Ingram.

At one point just 0.083s covered the top-four order, which at the time was led by WIX Racing's Adam Morgan. The Mercedes A-Class eventually wound up third, narrowly ahead of Team BKR's Aron Smith in fourth.

Reassuringly for Smith, the Volkswagen CC was the last car to win around here at Silverstone after Colin Turkington took his final win of the 2015 season during the third race.

Handy Motorsport's Rob Austin completed the fop-five ahead of another stellar effort from Power Maxed Racing's Hunter Abbott in sixth.

Andrew Jordan proved the quickest Motorbase Performance effort in seventh while Josh Cook, Jake Hill and Martin Depper - separated by 0.038s - completed the remainder of the top-ten order in eighth, ninth and tenth.

Missing out on the top-ten by just 0.004s, Colin Turkington was the top Subaru runner in eleventh ahead of championship leader Sam Tordoff in twelfth.

In truth, the majority of the championship contenders find themselves outside of the top-ten with Matt Neal, Gordon Shedden, Rob Collard, Mat Jackson and Jason Plato all ending FP2 outside of the top-15.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ashley Sutton (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance MG6
BMW returns to the BTCC with WSR
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.