Crash.Net BTCC News

Jackson wins to become third leader in a day

7 August 2011

Mat Jackson became the third driver to lead the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship standings in the space of a day with victory in the final race of the weekend at Snetterton.

The Airwaves Racing driver started the final race of the weekend from second on the grid but battled ahead of poleman Dave Newsham on the second lap before building an advantage at the head of the field.

Jackson's challenge was aided by Newsham delaying the cars behind him and by the time Paul O'Neill managed to get ahead of the Special Tuning driver, Jackson was already clear at the head of the field as he took victory and the championship lead.

O'Neill took a fine second ahead of defending champion Jason Plato with Matt Neal fourth despite starting near the back after his race two puncture. Alex MacDowall, James Nash and Gordon Shedden followed behind – the latter having been given a warning flag for damaged bodywork before removing the part with a brush against a tyre stack – with Newsham down in eighth.

The Clio Cup champion had been fourth starting the final lap but lost out to Neal on the back straight and then ran wide out of the final corner after being tipped out of shape by MacDowall and lost three further spots on the run to the line.

Nick Foster and Rob Austin rounded out the scorers, with Austin the second driver NGTC driver to break into the top ten after Frank Wrathall's heroics earlier in the day.

Wrathall failed to start race three as a result of the overheating issue he suffered in race two.