Crash.Net BTCC News

Plato wins Snetterton opener

12 August 2012

Jason Plato started the second half of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship in style with victory in race one at Snetterton.

Plato got ahead of pole man Frank Wrathall off the line and remained out front throughout to take his third win of the year, despite pressure early on from Dave Newsham.

Newsham would try to make a move for the lead at Riches mid-way through only to lose second to Wrathall's Toyota and the ES Racing man then missed out on the podium after a forceful move from Andrew Jordan on the final lap saw him take third.

Matt Neal was fifth for Honda after a race long fight with the Proton of Dan Welch, which eventually took the flag in sixth having been forced to fend of Tom Onslow-Cole's BMW in the final stages.

Gordon Shedden was a fine eighth from the back of the grid after his fire in practice yesterday with Mat Jackson ninth in the all new Redstone Racing Ford Focus. Lea Wood rounded out the top ten.

Rob Collard retired on the final lap while running in the top ten, ending his 100 per cent scoring record, while newcomer Robb Holland also retired after a clash with Adam Morgan which forced the Safety Car to be deployed early on.