Crash.Net BTCC News

Wrathall takes first victory as season ends

21 October 2012

Frank Wrathall followed the lead of Aron Smith by securing his maiden victory in the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship after coming out on top in the final race of the year at Brands Hatch.

The Dynojet driver started on the front row and took the lead when Mat Jackson was forced to retire with a throttle issue. Wrathall was never troubled from that points onwards as he took his first win in the series and the first for a Toyota since 1993.

Matt Neal took second in his final race before handing the title over to team-mate Gordon Shedden, with the Scot following him home in third. Andrew Jordan was fourth with the trio crossing the line in formation at the chequered flag.

Jordan's fourth place was enough to wrap up the Independents' teams title for Pirtek Racing while Aaron Smith and Dave Newsham rounded out the top six.

Jason Plato meanwhile could only manage eighth as MG continued to struggle for speed in the wet conditions, meaning that he missed out on taking second in the championship standings to Neal.