Crash.Net BTCC News

Plato secures opening Oulton honours

9 June 2013

Jason Plato took a comfortable victory in race one at Oulton Park as MG KX Momentum Racing secured its first 1-2 finish in the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.

Plato led from pole and was never headed while team-mate Sam Tordoff saw off the challenge of Gordon Shedden through the opening corners to secure his place on the podium. Shedden would take third in a race where the top three found themselves relatively untroubled at the head of the pack.

Behind them, Andrew Jordan took fourth place having battled ahead of Dave Newsham's Toyota, with Jordan surviving to the finish despite the fact that his car was trailing smoke for much of the race.

Newsham would slip backwards as the race wore on as he lost pace with his Avensis, with Colin Turkington, Matt Neal and Mat Jackson all finding a way through before the finish.

Adam Morgan and Rob Collard completed the top ten, with Morgan winning a drag race to the line as the pair came out of the final corner together. The duo had earlier been involved in a three-way fight that also included Tom Onslow-Cole before he went off and rejoined at Druids after a tap from Collard while his VW was out of shape.

Liam Griffin was the first Super 2000 car home but was then demoted to second behind Lea Wood for gaining an unfair advantage on the final lap as he made the move for position.