Crash.Net BTCC News

Round 6: Jordan takes maiden BTCC win

23 April 2006

Mike Jordan took victory in the final race of the day at Mondello Park in the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.

The Team Eurotech driver led from his de facto pole, gifted to Jordan by the reverse grid rules and absence of Mark Proctor from the start of the race, Proctor still in the pit garage as the grid formed.

Double Mondello race winner Matt Neal and rival Jason Plato both made great starts, but both suffered. Plato was given a drive through penalty whilst Neal was hung out to dry when passing the wide and slow Astra of Gavin Smith.

Colin Turkington forcably passed Neal and set off to hunt down Jordan, but the former British GT champ drove impeccably to his victory.

Matt Neal withstood race-long pressure from James Thompson to take the final podium spot.

Top ten
1. Mike Jordan
2. Colin Turkington
3. Matt Neal
4. James Thompson
5. Fabrizio Giovanardi
6. Gordon Shedden
7. Gavin Smith
8. Jason Plato
9. Tom Chilton
10. Dave Pinkney