Colin Turkington has secured his first win of the 2009 HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship season after taking the flag in top sport in the second race at Thruxton.

The Team RAC ace left it late to secure victory after making a move on Fabrizio Giovanardi on the final lap, holding on through the remainder of the final tour to take the win.

Giovanardi had led the race from pole position, while Turkington briefly held second place after jumping ahead of both Matt Neal and Andrew Jordan, although Neal was able to fight back to run in second by the end of the opening lap - when the Safety Car was called out for an incident involving Dan Eaves.

Related Articles

Having been unable to start race one, Eaves saw his second race end with a few hundreds metres of the start when he was tipped into a spin by Nick Leason and went hard into the wall on the outside of the circuit and sending the race under caution.

When the race got properly underway on lap seven, the top three quickly broke away with a gap developing to the pack behind, led by the third Vauxhall of Jordan who was holding up the cars behind. His challenge would eventually end on lap twelve when contact from Stephen Jelley at Noble turned him into a spin.

The same lap saw drama just behind on track, as Jason Plato attempted to make a move on Paul O'Neill sixth place heading into the Complex but forced the car wide where O'Neill then hit Adam Jones and suffered a spin which dropped him out of the top ten.

Our front, Giovanardi and Neal seemed to be struggling for grip and Turkington was able to move into second past Neal when he lost speed after slowing to avoid hitting Giovanardi - who had got out of shape on the run towards Church. Turkington then set about finding a way past Giovanardi and when the Italian ran wide at the Complex, Turkington was able to get a run and make a move at Goodwood to secure the lead.

Turkington duly held on to the finish to take victory ahead of Giovanardi and Neal, while Jelley claimed a solid fourth.

Rob Collard came through the pack to secure fifth, battling past both Plato and James Thompson on the final lap as they were demoted to sixth and seventh. Adam Jones and Mat Jackson took ninth and tenth, with O'Neill battling back to tenth.

He will now start the final race from pole as a result.

For results of race two, CLICK HERE.