Mat Jackson secured victory in the final Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the weekend at Oulton Park with a near lights-to-flag victory for Airwaves Racing.

Jackson was briefly heading by Nick Foster off the line but then got ahead for good and remained out front despite the best efforts of Gordon Shedden - the Honda man seeking to make up for being taken out of the lead of race two by team-mate Matt Neal.

Shedden was unable to find a way through and would drop back as the race wore on as Jackson took victory by more than four second.

Andrew Jordan took third place after holding off the challenge of a charging Neal, who had stormed through the order after his earlier indiscretion, the pair split by half a second at the finish. Tom Boardman took fifth ahead of Andy Neate, Tom Chilton and Dave Newsham while Foster dropped back to ninth at the finish.

Jeff Smith scored the final point in tenth place, himself bouncing back from his own accident earlier in the day.

Jason Plato could only manage eleventh after mid-race contact with Rob Collard at Lodge, which meant the BMW driver only took 14th place, while home hero Paul O'Neill was an early retirement after spinning off at Druids while fighting Foster for second place on the opening lap.

Former championship leader James Nash failed to score for the first time this season after a spin and contact with the barrier on the opening lap damaged his car. Nash had been the only driver to score in every race before the weekend started.