Dave Newsham repeated his result from Snetterton to secure victory in the final BTCC race of the weekend at Knockhill.

The Team ES Racing man started from pole and led from start-to-finish to take the second win for both himself and the team, despite the best efforts of the chasing pack behind in the closing stages.

Jeff Smith led a trio of Honda drivers behind as he secured his maiden podium finish for Pirtek Racing. Smith held second throughout despite the best efforts of Matt Neal to find a way through and closed on Newsham in the closing stages when his Vectra started to struggle with its tyre. However, he ran out of laps and had to settle for second, with Neal taking third and moving back into the points lead.

Behind them, Andrew Jordan took fourth ahead of a charging Tom Onslow-Cole, who set the fastest lap en-route to fifth. Paul O'Neill rounded out the top six ahead of Nick Foster, Aron Smith, Rob Collard and Mat Jackson.

There was disappointment however for Neal's title rivals Gordon Shedden and Jason Plato. Shedden was forced to retire after running off track avoiding a clash between Aron Smith and Foster while Plato failed to even take the start due to engine issues on his MG.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment