Jason Plato took a dominant win in the opening Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the weekend at Rockingham.

Plato led all the way from pole position for his fourth win of the season and also set a new race lap record as he smashed the record set by Frank Wrathall last season.

Andrew Jordan and Gordon Shedden were second and third in their Honda Civics although the latter was forced to hold off Mat Jackson in the closing stages as he set about trying to secure his first podium finish in the NGTC-spec Ford Focus

Rob Collard drove well in his S2000 BMW to finish fifth for eBay Motors ahead of the championship leader Matt Neal who managed to battle his way to sixth despite a broken bone in his hand. Andy Neate, Tom Onslow-Cole, Rob Austin and Nick Foster rounded out the top ten.

Debutant Howard Fuller took the flag in 14th to score on his debut but it was a tough race for a number of others.

Aron Smith crashed out after contact from Jeff Smith at Tarzan, with his namesake then going into the barriers on the exit of Gracelands a few laps later. Technical issues also halted Ollie Jackson, Adam Morgan and Will Bratt.

Morgan's retirement was particularly tough, given he had just taken eighth spot from Wrathall at the time before developing an engine issue.