Jason Plato win the opening Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the weekend at Silverstone after making the most of a retirement for Mat Jackson.

Plato led early on before Jackson moved ahead in his Ford Focus on the eleventh lap, with the Redstone Racing man seemingly set for his first win in the new car. However, a technical issue then forced him to retire and allowed Plato to reclaim top spot - which he held to the finish ahead of Dave Newsham and Aron Smith.

Rob Collard was fourth to close the gap to Andy Jordan in the Independents championship, with Jordan forced to retire from the race early on after contact from Andy Neate put him into the gravel. Neate was fined for the incident.

Related Articles

Rob Austin was a fine fifth from 17th on the grid in his Audi, with Nick Foster, Gordon Shedden and Jeff Smith rounding out the top eight.

That result for Shedden after a tough qualifying session allowed him to extend his championship lead after team-mate Matt Neal was forced to retire with a loss of turbo boost.

Amongst the other retirements, Chris James went out after hitting the Honda of Howard Fuller, Frank Wrathall was forced out after being hit by fellow Toyota man Adam Morgan.