Matt Neal led a Honda 1-2 in the final Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the weekend at Brands Hatch.

Neal took the lead from the Ford of Mat Jackson shortly after the restart following a Safety Car period caused by a huge accident for Rob Austin after he clipped the spinning Toyota of Dave Newsham exiting Paddock Hill Bend.

Austin made heavy contact with the barriers on the inside of the circuit but escaped uninjured despite the damage sustained to his car.

After the restart, a mistake from Jackson exiting Druids saw him lose the lead to Neal who remained out front to the finish, with Shedden storming through the pack from his race two exclusion to follow him home.

The defending champion was helped somewhat by Sam Tordoff making a forceful move on Adam Morgan as the duo diced for second spot, enabling the Scot to nip through from fourth to second in one go.

Tordoff followed the Honda pair home in third for his maiden BTCC podium with Morgan taking Independent honours in fourth. Jason Plato - winner of the first two races - was fifth and leads the early championship standings, with Andy Jordan rounding out the top six.

S2000 honours went to Lea Wood but he was then excluded for failing the ride height test - giving Liam Griffin his second Jack Sears Trophy win. By virtue of those two wins, Griffin heads the Jack Sears Trophy standings.

To view race three results, CLICK HERE.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment