Jason Plato maintained his stranglehold on race day at Oulton Park with victory in the second Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the weekend.

As in race one, the MG man led from start-to-finish for another success which allowed him to match Alain Menu's record of nine wins at the Cheshire circuit.

The win came despite an early Safety Car period, caused by Jack Goff's car coming to a halt on the entry to the pit lane.

Related Articles

Behind Plato, Gordon Shedden took place, with an opportunistic move on Colin Turkington putting him into a podium position early on before he found a way ahead of the second MG of Sam Tordoff. Running on the soft tyre, Tordoff would drop back down the field as the race wore on before contact with Mat Jackson saw him damage his car - leaving him to struggle home 21st.

Turkington therefore was able to secure his place on the podium in third place ahead of the second factory Honda of Matt Neal and the similar Civic of Andrew Jordan.

Dave Newsham, Adam Morgan, Rob Austin, Dan Welch and Jeff Smith rounded out the top ten - with Smith taking pole for race three thanks to the reverse grid draw.

Lea Wood won the Jack Sears Trophy for a second time to move onto five wins for the season, meaning he will top the standings leaving Oulton Park regardless of the result.

Race 2 results | Race 1 results | Race 1 report