Andrew Jordan extended his advantage in the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship to 30 points with victory in the final race of the weekend at Rockingham.

The Pirtek Racing man started from pole thanks to the reverse grid draw and led from start-to-finish for his sixth success of the year - more than anyone else.

Behind him, Colin Turkington made his usual fast start to jump to third on the opening lap and then battled ahead of Sam Tordoff's MG to secure second spot, with Jason Plato also getting ahead of his team-mate to secure his only podium finish of the weekend.

Mat Jackson rounded out his best weekend of the season with fourth ahead of defending champion Gordon Shedden, with Tordoff competing the top six.

Former points leader Matt Neal could only take seventh as he slipped down to fourth in the standings having lost 36 points to Jordan on his toughest weekend of the year.

Further down the field, Liam Griffin's failure to start due to a gearbox issue handed the Jack Sears Trophy to Lea Wood, who duly celebrated with his third success of the day.

Amongst those to retire were Rob Collard and Jack Goff who crashed out on lap one while avoiding the out-of-control Honda of Jeff Smith, triggering an early Safety Carperiod.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment