Jason Plato took a second straight win at Brands Hatch to set up a three-way fight for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship title on Finals Day.

As in race one, the MG man led from start-to-finish and picked up the bonus point for fastest lap to move to within 15 points of the championship lead.

Crucially, title leader Andrew Jordan failed to score after an incident on the second lap, marking his first no score of the campaign.

Jordan had been battling with the BMW of Rob Collard on lap two, but was left with no-where to go when Aron Smith made a move to take position from Collard and tipped the BMW into a spin at Surtees. Trying to take avoiding action, his Pirtek Racing Honda was hit by Matt Neal, breaking the rear suspension and putting him out.

Neal would be forced to pit and would then pull off with flames coming from under the bonnet of his car on the final lap - dropping him out of contention.

The only other man still able to win the title, Gordon Shedden, was seventh after a dramatic race that included a lurid slide on lap one at Paddock Hill Bend, with the chasing pack somehow managing to avoid his Civic. He has to win race three to stand any chance of defending his title.

Elsewhere in the race, Plato was followed him by team-mate Sam Tordoff in a 1-2 for MG, with Mat Jackson third for Airwaves Racing. Dave Newsham, Aron Smith and Jack Goff rounded out the top six, while Lea Wood again won the Jack Sears Trophy for the S2000 runners.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment