Brands Hatch: Jordan claims second Brands win

Andrew Jordan claims win number two of the day at the Brands BTCC opener
Pirtek Racing's Andrew Jordan continued his winning ways by claiming the second BTCC victory of the day at Brands Hatch ahead of Gordon Shedden.

Jordan, as was the case with the first race, led from start to finish but this time had to survive two safety car periods triggered by the stricken Chevrolet of Dave Stockton on lap 1 and Martin Depper's unfortunate exit on lap 17.

The reigning champion's race was arguably made a little easier when his main rival from race one, Jason Plato, stalled on the grid dropping to the 27th in the process.

The Pirtek man instead had the attention of Shedden throughout but judged the second restart to perfection, sealing a somewhat comfortable race winning margin.

eBay's Colin Turkington also threatened to challenge the Pirtek Honda for victory but his charge was thwarted by the second safety car phase and ended the race third ahead of Honda's Matt Neal in fourth.

Nick Foster posted an impressive drive to fifth and one point held fourth keeping both of his more illustrious eBay team mates at bay for a time.

Rob Collard and Aron Smith both mirrored their race one results in sixth and seventh, both failing to dispatch the BMW of Foster.

Smith's seventh place came thanks to a late charge by the Volkswagen man on the softer tyre.

Wix Racing's Adam Morgan gave the new Mercedes A-Class its best result of eighth in only its second while rookie Tom Ingram kept himself in the top in ninth.

Fabrizio Giovanardi enjoyed a better turn of fortune as the Airwaves man completed the top ten after starting 14th.

Plato recovered to 14th following his opening lap gremlins which demoted the MG well down the pack.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Andrew Jordan (GBR) Pirtek Racing Honda Civic
BMW returns to the BTCC with WSR
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.