After playing the perfect game in the first race of the day in the British Touring Car Championship, SEAT Sport UK's Jason Plato took victory in the second race after starting from the front row.

Plato did have the rapidly starting Ulsterman, Colin Turkington, in the WSR MG ahead of him but the 2001 BTCC champion was soon past the MG and off into the lead.

The race spent much of its 27 lap course under yellows, the first appearing after Shaun Watson Smith lost the rear of his Proton coming through Paddock Hill Bend all by himself, and the PSP car was left stuck in the kitty litter.

The second safety car was brough about by an incident just another corner along the circuit as Rob Collard made a move on Carl Breeze, now in a GA Motorsports Astra. Collard tipped Breeze sideways and was through, but then the recovering Breeze collected Collard and the Hampshire man was tipped from behind by Dan Eaves.

Once back in action after former VX Racing BTCC pilot Paul O'Neill returned the safety car to the pits, the race was a seven lap charge to the flag.

Plato's team-mate, Rob Huff tried all he could to pass Colin Turkington's MG but the WSR car was very, very wide and SEAT had to settle for a one-three.

Title contender James Thompson came home in fourth place, resisiting the efforts of race one winner Matt Neal to the chequered flag whilst Yvan Muller struggled with a heavy car to an eventual eighth place.

Anthony Reid's race ended almost before it had begun with the Scotsman's involvement in a first corner incident meaning he returned to the pits for what was to be retirement.

Plato's victory is his sixth in 2004 and now he has to start the third and final race of the day full of success ballast. The SEAT man was quick to dispell any criticism that might go the team's way over their use of finishing race one near the tenth place that gives pole for race two.

"We're giving the fans fantastic entertainment," said Plto after his victory. "We're getting better results than the others at the moment."

Plato's car did have a bit of damage to the rear when it returned to the SEAT pit, but it was in far better condition than it has been many times this season. "We don't mind the back of our car being damaged as it means we're out in front," quipped Plato.

Top ten
1. Jason Plato
2. Colin Turkington
3. Rob Huff
4. James Thompson
5. Matt Neal
6. James Kaye
7 Michael Bentwood
8. Yvan Muller
9. Dan Eaves
10. Luke Hines