Team Halfords notched up their second 1-2 of the season in the 2005 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship after an epic sixteen lap battle in the second race of round two at Thruxton.

Eaves was gifted an early lead as those behind the race one winner battled for position, meaning Eaves was some two seconds to the good at the end of the first lap. This the Integra driver managed to stretch to over three seconds during the course of the race, and Eaves even bagged the race's fastest lap despite carrying maximum success ballast.

Matt Neal started the first lap with a good start into second place, but was soon dicing with a forceful Jason Plato who took the second spot initially, before a three way battle ensued for the remainder of lap one. Yvan Muller, Neal and Plato all took their turns with P2, and it was Muller who headed into the chicane with that particular honour.

Muller might have been the in the second spot, but another robust attack from Plato meant that Muller was in full sideways mode. The action was shown great appreciated by the crowds down at Club chicane, but it was a far from happy Frenchman after the race, blasting Plato as being 'f***ing dangerous' when interviewed over the circuit tannoy.

Whilst Muller retained his place despite the contact, Matt Neal was the one to loose out from the early hustle and bustle, but outlining the pace of the Integra he worked his way back from as low as sixth to take second spot after fine overtaking moves on both Plato and Muller.

Top ten
1. Dan Eaves
2. Matt Neal
3. Yvan Muller
4. James Pickford
5. Jason Plato
6. Tom Chilton
7. Colin Turkington
8. Luke Hines
9. James Kaye
10. Gavin Smith