Oulton park - Free practice (1)

Jason Plato topped the times in the first practice at Oulton Park, held in wet conditions on Saturday morning.
Series leader Jason Plato dominated the time sheets in first practice on Saturday morning at Oulton Park, with only Mat Jackson's Ford Focus able to get within striking distance of the MG6.

However, Plato's times were still some 10s off the top speeds usually seen here, with the track very wet and buffeted by blustery winds.

"We learnt a lot when we ran the MG for the first time in the wet at Thruxton last time out," said Plato. "The circuit was fine, just wet all round with a bit of standing water but it was easy to drive around that."

Gordon Shedden - who has won four of the last five races - was the slowest man in the session after opting to dedicate his time to experimenting with tyres.

Practice 1 times

1. Jason Plato MG KX Momentum Racing MG6 1:37.448s (14 laps)
2. Mat Jackson Redstone Racing Ford Focus 1:37.665s + 0.217s (16 laps)
3. Andy Neate MG KX Momentum Racing MG6 1:38.432s + 0.984s (19 laps)
4. Matt Neal Honda Yuasa Racing Team Honda Civic 1:38.437s + 0.989s (14 laps)
5. Andrew Jordan Pirtek Racing Honda Civic 1:38.454s + 1.006s (15 laps)
6. Nick Foster eBay Motors BMW 320si 1:38.731s + 1.283s (18 laps)
7. Adam Morgan Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 1:38.936s + 1.488s (17 laps)
8. Tom Onslow-Cole eBay Motors BMW 320si 1:38.992s + 1.544s (14 laps)
9. Rob Collard eBay Motors BMW 320si 1:39.013s + 1.565s (13 laps)
10. Dave Newsham Team ES Vauxhall Vectra 1:39.152s + 1.704s (10 laps)
11. Will Bratt Rob Austin RAcing Audi A4 1:39.198s + 1.75s (18 laps)
12. Jeff Smith Pirtek Racing Honda Civic 1:39.411s + 1.963s (16 laps)
13. Aron Smith Redstone Racing Ford Focus 1:39.507s + 2.059s (15 laps)
14. Lea Wood BINZ Racing Vauxhall Vectra 1:39.664s + 2.216s (18 laps)
15. Frank Wrathall Dynojet Toyota Avensis 1:39.784s + 2.336s (13 laps)
16. Daniel Welch Welch Motorsport Proton Persona 1:40.208s + 2.76s (15 laps)
17. Tony Hughes Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 1:40.496s + 3.048s (17 laps)
18. Ollie Jackson AmD Volkswagen Golf 1:40.783s + 3.335s (11 laps)
19. Liam Griffin Redstone Racing Ford Focus 1:41.248s + 3.8s (12 laps)
20. Tony Gilham Team HARD. Honda Civic 1:41.626s + 4.178s (11 laps)
21. Chris James Team ES Vauxhall Vectra 1:41.721s + 4.273s (12 laps)
22. Gordon Shedden Honda Yuasa Racing Team Honda Civic 1:44.809s + 7.361s (15 laps)

Total laps: 323

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jason Plato (GBR) MG KX Momentum Racing MG6 GT
Jason Plato (GBR) MG KX Momentum Racing MG6 GT
Jason Plato (GBR) MG KX Momentum Racing MG6 GT
Jason Plato (GBR) MG KX Momentum Racing MG6 GT
Jason Plato and Colin Turkington - Team BMR
Motorbase Ford EcoBoost engine
Jaon Plato
Jaon Plato
Jaon Plato
Jaon Plato
Mat Jackson
Mat Jackson
Mike Bushell - Ford Focus
Mike Bushell - Airwaves Ford Focus
Sam Tordoff (GBR) MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6 GT
Sam Tordoff (GBR) MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6 GT
Sam Tordoff (GBR) MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6 GT
Sam Tordoff (GBR) MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6 GT

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.